The Bulow Plantation Ruins stand as a monument to the rise and fall of one of the largest sugar plantation in east Florida. Bulow’s Sugar Mill was constructed of local coquina rock, which was used to build most large structures in the 19th century. The year 1836 brought a volatile time in the Florida frontier. The Second Seminole War swept away the prosperous Bulow Plantation, a unique spring house, its wells and slave cabins of the former plantation. Scenic walking trails magnify the historic significance of the area and educate locals, tourists and history buffs alike about the plantation’s history. A boat ramp provides access for canoes and small powerboats to scenic Bulow Creek, a designated state canoe trail. Anglers can fish from the dock or a boat. Bulow Plantation was added to the National Register of Historic Places (NRHP) in 1970. Bulow Creek State Park protects nearly 5,600 acres, more than 1,500 of which are submerged lands. The highlight of Bulow Creek is one of the largest remaining stands of southern live oak forest along Florida’s east coast. The reigning tree is the Fairchild Oak, one of the largest live oak trees in the South. These virtually untouched sites are a rare natural treasure.
In 1836 the second Seminole War swept
away the prosperous Bulow Plantation that
grew sugar cane, rice indigo and cotton. The
Plantation Ruins are a history treasure.
The Fairchild Oak has stood for over 400 years in Bulow Creek State Park. Bulow Creek protects nearly 5,600 acres. Trails allow hikers to explore rich animal life and one of the largest stands of live
oak in the South.
We need your help
A Citizens Support Organization (CSO) has been organized to support the Bulow Plantation Ruins Historic State Park and Bulow Creek State Park. These sites offer great potential to open a newdoor to the richness of Florida history and provide worthy tasks for its new volunteers, visitors and Florida historians